One Hundred-Word Halloween Horror Story – Day 30


I had always been a fearful child.

Perhaps I can blame it on my three sisters who delighted in picking on me at any chance. Or perhaps I can blame it on my father who had often muttered, “I wish she had been a boy.” Could it have been my mother who would take any opportunity to hurt me whenever no one was watching? I still have those scars.

In any event, I carried that fear all my life. Always. It defined me.

Not until I took matters into my own hands.

The axe made me strong. Stronger than fear.

Comments?

